Established in 1887, the Campobello Public Library and Museum serves as a testament to the history and culture of Campobello Island. Located in the peaceful village of Welshpool and overlooking the pristine waters of Friars Bay, the library and museum provide a gateway to memories of the past and are a must-visit destination while on Campobello Island.
Constructed in 1898, the Campobello Public Library & Museum expanded with the addition of a room for the Museum – Art Gallery in 1899. In 1967, a Children’s Room was added as part of an Island Centennial Project. Between 1982 and 1989, the people of Campobello Island lovingly restored the library and museum, which joined the regional system in 1974.
Visitors to the library can explore various historical artifacts, such as the “Owen Carriage” and the dining room table once owned and used by Captain William Fitzwilliam Owen, the son of the Welsh captain who was granted the island in 1769. Captain Owen built the Owen House in 1835, which now functions as a bed and breakfast. The Owen family managed the island of Campobello as a feudal estate for nearly a century.
The library’s collection of photographs, paintings, clothing, and other items transport visitors back to the early history of Campobello. Notable Library Board Members have included Franklin D. Roosevelt, who served as a board member in 1916, and Franklin D. Roosevelt Jr., who was an honorary board member in 1982.
This post has already been read 1822 times!