December 3, 2022


Fredericton Police Station

Fredericton Police Station

The Fredericton Police Force was created on June 27, 1851. One Police Officer was hired (unpaid) to patrol wards. Their first unofficial Chief of Police was Sgt. Paul PhillipsCity Council never allowed him to utilize the name “Chief of Police.” The first official Chief of Police was John Hawthorne (1905) and retained the position for only three years. 

Fredericton Police Station

In 1883, the Fredericton Police relocated its headquarters in what is now the City of Fredericton’s City Hall and remained there till 1971. Again, the Fredericton Police relocated its office in 1971 to York Street which shared the building with the Fredericton Fire Department. Since 1983, the Fredericton Police Force is located on Queen street in their state-of-the-art building.

In 1973, the Fredericton Police hired its first female police officer, Shirley Jollimore.

There have been 14 Chiefs in the Force’s history:

  • 1905-1908 John Hawthorne
  • 1908 George H Winters
  • 1913-1916 John H Mcollom
  • 1917-1921 George Findlay
  • 1923-1945 Nathaniel Jones
  • 1946-1954 J. D. O’Connell
  • 1955-1957 Alfred Barker
  • 1957-1972 Bryce Neely
  • 1972-1976 Ronald Goodyear
  • 1976-1980 Lionel Poirier
  • 1980-2005 Gordon Carlisle
  • 2005-2012 Barry MacKnight
  • 2012-2013 Leanne Fitch (Acting)
  • 2013-2019 Leanne Fitch 
  • 2019 Roger Brown

This post has already been read 2530 times!

One thought on “Fredericton Police Station

  1. So sorry to hear of the loss of your two Police Officers. My deepest condolences to your Force, and the Families affected.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Translate »