Constructed in 1894, this building at 245 York Street in Fredericton served as the home of John Harvey, a photographer and the founder of the enduring downtown establishment, ‘Harvey Studio’, and his wife Martha. After John Harvey’s death, Martha continued to operate the business. In addition, she was an ardent advocate for heritage causes, including the establishment of the York-Sunbury Historical Society, which originated from small gatherings in her home in 1927.
The plaque shield engraved with “J Harvey” still graces the front door of this home at 245 York Street in Fredericton.
This post has already been read 2815 times!