The O.W. Coleman house in Moncton is celebrated as a Local Historic Place for its architectural significance and association with several distinguished past owners.
Constructed in 1900 for well-known traveling salesman O.W. Coleman, the house is a prime example of Queen Anne Revival residential architecture from the early 20th century in Moncton. It showcases typical elements of this style, including a steeply pitched cross-gable roof, a corner tower with a conical roof, and a wrap-around veranda that has since been converted into an enclosed sun porch.
The residence is also notable for its connection to Dr. Sherman W. Burgess, who owned and lived in the house from 1904 until his death in the 1940s. As one of the city’s first eye, ear, nose, and throat specialists, Dr. Burgess was later made a Fellow of the American College of Surgeons.
Judge Tuttle T. Goodwin, the subsequent owner, was another esteemed Moncton citizen. Serving as a Probate Court Judge for Westmorland County and a former alderman of Moncton, he acted as City Solicitor for almost 18 years until shortly before his passing in 1948.
In 1955, Judge Goodwin’s wife, Georgie, transferred the property to their daughter, Doris Eleanor Gill. Doris’ husband, Bill Gill, is a member of the New Brunswick Sports Hall of Fame, the Nova Scotia Sports Hall of Fame, and the Moncton Sports Wall of Fame. As a player, Bill was part of Winnipeg’s Elmwood Millionaires when they won the Canadian Junior Hockey Championship (Memorial Cup) in 1930-1931. He later moved to Moncton and helped establish the renowned local team, the Moncton Hawks.
During his time with the Hawks, the team secured the Allan Cup in both the 1932-1933 and 1933-1934 seasons. Bill is also recognized in Nova Scotia for his work as a coach. His wife, Doris, continued to reside in the house until her death in 2004.
This post has already been read 1425 times!