The first church at Nash Creek was built in the early 1860s. This building burnt in 1876 and a new church was built in 1877. The church was first known as St. Thomas Presbyterian Church but the name was changed to Bethel Presbyterian Church sometime between 1895 and 1912.
Like their counterparts across the country, the congregation faced the question of Church Union — did they wish to unite with other Presbyterian Churches, the Methodist and Congregational Churches as the United Church of Canada? The question was unique in this area where only the Presbyterian Church had made inroads. In 1925 Bethel Presbyterian Church became Bethel United Church.
Nash Creek was added as a preaching point to the New Mills Pastoral Charge in 1977. After the amalgamation of New Mills Pastoral Charge and Dalhousie Pastoral Charge in January 2010, it was decided that the congregation of Chaleur United Church, comprised of the remaining members of the New Mills Pastoral Charge, would use the church building in Nash Creek for their worship services.
This post has already been read 372 times!Follow Us on Social Media